The Little White School Museum was built on its current site in 1850 as a Methodist-Episcopal Church. The congregation dissolved in 1913, and two years later, the Oswego School District purchased the building for use as a one-room school for grades 1-3. In 1930, the main room was divided into two classrooms and in 1934, a basement was added beneath the building. In 1936, the building was expanded to its present size with a third classroom addition, a main entrance hallway and basement stairs. Classes were held in the building until 1964, the last few years as junior high classroom space as the school district's enrollment boomed. In the early 1970s, the school district announced they planned to demolish the building and sell the site. A non-profit grassroots group, the Oswegoland Heritage Association, was established to spearhead the building restoration and formation of a community museum. With thousands of volunteer hours, in-kind and cash donations, and assistance from the Oswegoland Park District, the restoration project was completed in 2002. Today the building houses an extensive archival collection, a vibrant community museum, and plays host to several civic organization.