Skip to main content

Neighbors of Kane County

Kane County 4-H Foundation Names 2019 Scholarship Recipients

Aug 02, 2019 10:13AM ● By Hannah Ott

Kane County - The Kane County 4-H Foundation recently provided scholarship funds to seven Kane County youth. Scholarship recipients were selected based on: 4-H Youth Development program involvement, 4-H achievements, community service, school involvement and future plans. High school seniors, and post-high school students enrolled full-time in an educational program, were encouraged to apply.

  • Brooke Wackerlin – $500 scholarship, made possible by Woodman’s Markets, and $125 from 4-H Foundation

Brooke is a 10-year 4-H’er, and is a member of Lincoln Highway 4-H Club. She is a graduate of Indian Creek High School and will be attending University of Wisconsin, Platteville. She plans to become a pharmacist. Her parents are Amy and John Wackerlin of Waterman.

  • Emily Thompson  –  $500 Bob and Alyce Konen Memorial Scholarship, and $125 from 4-H Foundation

Emily is a 7-year 4-H’er, a member of Primrose Clovers 4-H Club, and a St Charles North High School graduate. This fall, she will be attending Iowa State University with career aspirations in animal sciences. Her parents are Katherine and Jeff Thompson of St. Charles.

  • Gwen Klinkey – $750 Scholarship from 4-H Foundation

Gwen has been in 4-H for 11 years, and is a member of A Bit More 4-H Club. She is a graduate of St. Charles North High School, and this fall, will be attending Millikin University to pursue a career in medical writing. Her parents are Sandy and Rob Klinkey of St. Charles.

  • Erin Fidler – $500 scholarship from 4-H Foundation

Erin is an 11-year 4-H’er, and is a member of Burlington Ag 4-H Club. She attends Oklahoma State University, studying agriculture, and plans to work toward both her bachelors and masters degrees. Her parents are Lara and Joe Fidler of Genoa.

  • Megan Fidler – $500 Scholarship from 4-H Foundation

Megan is a 10-year member of 4-H, and a member of Burlington Ag 4-H Club. She attends University of Wisconsin-Platteville and is working toward a degree in agriculture. She is the daughter of Chris and Don Fidler of Sycamore.

  • Rebecca Rickert -- $500 Scholarship from 4-H Foundation

Rebecca has been part of 4-H for six years and is a member of The Challengers 4-H Club. She attends Judson University, and she is working toward a career in architecture. Her parents are David and Dianna Rickert of Elgin.

  • Brooke Sunderlage – $500 scholarship from 4-H Foundation

Brooke is an 11-year 4-H’er, and is a member of Burlington Ag 4-H Club. She attends Black Hawk East College, and plans to become an animal geneticist. Her parents are Todd and Karen Sunderlage of Genoa.

All monies for these scholarships are made available through fundraising efforts and private donations to the Kane County 4-H Foundation. The Bob and Alyce Konen Memorial Scholarship was first available in 2010 and is made possible through memorial donations from family and friends. The Konens were longtime 4-H supporters. Donations and monies raised by the Kane County 4-H Foundation support many countywide events and activities including volunteer support, training and recognition; 4-H Government Day; Kane County Fair activities and awards; educational scholarships; and general 4-H and University of Illinois Extension office support.

About 4-H: 4-H is a community of young people across America learning leadership, citizenship, and life skills. 4-H positive youth development programs provide the opportunity for youth to feel a sense of belonging, develop independence, practice generosity and experience mastery. If you are interested in learning more about 4-H, contact University of Illinois Extension in your county, visit or call 630-584-6166. 

Source: news/images by Rosie Ralston 630-553-5823