Skip to main content

Neighbors of Kane County

Election 2017: St. Charles will see some competition in wards 2 and 4

Jan 04, 2017 10:05AM ● By Neighbors Magazines

St.  Charles Mayor Ray Rogina will seek re-election, and there will be some competition for seats in Ward 2 and Ward 4 in the April 4 consolidated election.

According to a city of St. Charles news release, three candidates will vie for Ward 2 alderman: Arthur J. Lemke, Ryan S. Bongard and Jake W. Wyatt. Lemke is the incumbent. Two candidates have filed for the open Ward 4 seat: David Pietryla and Lora A. Vitek.

The city of St. Charles website shows that Ward 2 has a population of 6,861 as of 2016. The ward includes the area of the Charlestowne Mall, which is planned to be relaunched as The Quad St. Charles, as well as Royal Fox Country Club and Wredling Middle School.

Ward 4 has a population of 6,758. It is generally located along the Fox River, north or IL Route 38 and includes the area of Pottawatomie Park, St. Charles Country Club and Thompson Middle School, according to the St. Charles ward map.

The list of candidates who have signed nominating petition packets for the spring election includes:

o    Raymond P. Rogina — Mayor

o    Charles Amenta — City Clerk

o    Jo K. Krieger — Treasurer

o    Ronald Silkaitis — Ward 1

o    Arthur J. Lemke — Ward 2

o    Ryan S. Bongard — Ward 2

o    Jake W. Wyatt — Ward 2

o    William J. Turner — Ward 3

o    David Pietryla — Ward 4

o    Lora A. Vitek — Ward 4

o    Maureen Lewis — Ward 5

The Kane County Clerk’s Office Election Department (630) 232 5990 will assist with questions about precincts or standard election questions.  The state Board of Elections may be contacted at (217) 782 4141 with more specific questions on elections, eligibility and running for office.

Source: kanecountyconnects