Skip to main content

Neighbors of Kane County

2016 BPS Hall of Honor inductees

Jun 06, 2016 12:58PM ● By Neighbors Magazines

On Thurs., Sept. 15, Batavia Public School District 101 will welcome eight individual inductees into its Hall of Honor at Batavia High School.

The BPS Hall of Honor was initiated by the Batavia Foundation for Educational Excellence and BPS101 to promote pride in Batavia Public Schools and to honor alumni, faculty, and friends who have made outstanding accomplishments in their communities and personal lives since they have been associated with District 101.

Six of the eight inductees will be installed as Batavia High School Alumni, one will enter the Hall of Honor as a BPS101 Staff Member, and one will be installed as a Friend of Batavia for loyal supportand dedication to BPS101.

“The Hall of Honor is a celebration of exemplary alumni and friends of Batavia Public School District 101 who have distinguished themselves in their professional and/or personal lives since high school,” said Nan Phillips, BPS Hall of Honor committee chairperson and Batavia Foundation for Educational Excellence Board Member. “The inductees are significant role models who encourage our students to reach for greatness in and outside of the classroom, and to be of service in their community.”

The BPS101 Hall of Honor induction ceremony will take place on Thurs., Sept. 15, 6:30pm at the Batavia Fine Arts Centre located at Batavia High School (Wilson St. entrance). Because the awards ceremony will be part of Homecoming Week, Hall of Honor inductees will also be recognized at the Homecoming Parade on Wed., Sept. 14 and the football game on Fri., Sept. 16.

Congratulations to the following inductees:

Batavia High School Alumni

Ellen Skirmont Diffenbaugh (1934) deceased 1986

Rudy Dubis (1970)

Lori Anderson Gregorski (1986)

Richard W. Hansen (1955)

George Von Hoff (1940) deceased 2010

Dennis Piron (1983)

BPS101 Staff

Marilyn Horbus

BPS101 Friend

Laura Bernabei

For more information visit